IPCC Scholarship Programme receives more contributions

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Scholarship Programme received new contributions from individuals in 2013 and in early 2014.

In January 2014, Hoesung Lee, one of the three Vice-Chairs of the IPCC, and his wife Mrs Sungna Chung, contributed to the IPCC Nobel Peace Prize Fund, a fund used solely for the purpose of scholarship awards to the young climate scientists under the IPCC Scholarship Programme.

In October 2013, another IPCC Vice-Chair, Professor Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, also made a donation to the Fund.

The IPCC Scholarship Programme was established with the funds received from the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize award to the IPCC. The first funding partner of the Programme was Gro Harlem Brundtland, former Norwegian Prime Minister and UN Special Envoy on Climate Change. Dr Brundtland made her donation from the Tallberg Leadership Award, which she received in June 2009.

The IPCC welcomes contributions to the scholarship programme and is happy to provide further information to prospective funding partners.

For more information on the Scholarship Programme visit the IPCC Scholarship Programme page.